Folders for selected timeline parts

All feature requests and suggestions for upcoming releases of Nuendo 7 can be posted here.
Locked
Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt »

I hope I can explain this idea well enough.

How about if timeline could be divided into sections and you could hide the parts you are not working atm to timeline folders...

I'm working on a tv series now and I have all the episodes (8) in one project. This is to have easy acces to sounds used previously in the episodes. It would be very cool if I could hide parts of the timeline just like you can hide tracks in to folder tracks.
Then when needed, open the timeline folder to do what you need to do, then close it again.

Bye
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by MattiasNYC »

You're thinking about this "horizontally", yes? So if you are working on episode 4 and it lies between 04:00:00:00 and 04:30:00:00 for example, you could "collapse" the "timeline folder" between session start at 01:00:00:00 and 04:00:00:00? And then if you needed an effect from episode 2 you'd just open that "folder" which would "unfold" 02:00:00:00-:03:00:00:00?

Intuitively it seems like a can of worms. May I ask what the current implementation does that is a problem or is less efficient? After all you have both markers and cycle markers you can use.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt »

You understood correctly...

Just an idea to be able to minimize what lies on my screens... I don't see this can of worms.

Bye/ Tumppi
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by MattiasNYC »

Well, the issue I'm thinking of is really on the programming side of things. Conceptually it's fine. If it's a solid feature that's optional then I don't mind if it's there and you are using it. But I would be worried about what developing such a feature could do in terms of bugs. It seems like a pretty easy thing conceptually, but I'm not sure it's necessarily easy to do in terms of programming. But what do I know... I'm not a programmer :-)
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Tumppi Järnefelt
Member
Posts: 571
Joined: Sun Feb 20, 2011 7:22 pm
Contact:

Re: Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by Tumppi Järnefelt »

I see so that it does not affect anything on the timeline, just hides stuff.

So I don't see how it is dangerous.
Intel i7-7700 @3.6 GHz, Win10 home, 64bit
ADK laptop i7, Win7 64bit home
Nuendo 8.xx
Nuendo 10.xx
PT 12.5
RME FF800
DTouch
http://www.finnvox.fi/en/cinepost

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4259
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: Folders for selected timeline parts

Post by MattiasNYC »

It took how many weeks to get VCAs working?

Like I said, I'm not against the functionality per se, I'm just saying that it seems to me to have the potential of creating issues when programming it, and to me it wouldn't be worth the effort considering that risk.

One risk I could see is what to do with objects that 'straddle' the 'border' of the folder. Do they get included in the folder or lay outside? Split maybe? Would you be able to mute the folder, and if so would those 'straddlers' be affected? Coding would also have to take into account that show/hide commands/agents would need priorities set between the horizontal visibility (tracks etc) versus the vertical one (I think).

And so on. I don't mean to be argumentative, I'm just giving my view on it.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Locked

Return to “Feature Requests and Suggestions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest