Change project folder in pool

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Change project folder in pool

Post by rumlee »

How do I Change the project folder in the pool? not the record folder but project folder
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Prock
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3970
Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 4:22 pm
Location: Connecticut, USA
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by Prock »

I'm not getting what you mean by "change" the project folder. Please describe what you really want to do. Thanks.

Regards. 8-)
PRock Studio

DAW: Cubase Pro 10.5.20, OS: Win 10 Pro x64, CPU: Intel Core i7 4700K @ 4.0GHz, RAM: 32GB/DDR4/2800MHz, Graphics: 4GB GeForce GTX 960, Mobo: MSI Z170A Gaming Pro Carbon, AI: PreSonus Studio 192 Mobile, Mic Preamp: PreSonus TubePre, Headphone Amp: PreSonus HP4, Studio Monitors: Mackie MR5, 3rd Party VSTs: GSi VB3-II, SampleTank 3, Amplitube 4, Miroslav Philharmonik 2, EZDrummer 2

https://soundcloud.com/prockstudio

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by rumlee »

Prock wrote:I'm not getting what you mean by "change" the project folder. Please describe what you really want to do. Thanks.

Regards. 8-)
In the pool there is a project folder path, where the audio files recorded are placed. I can changes the record folder, but the folder is still placed inside the project folder. The project folder is by default a folder called "new projects", but after making a new song, that I want to save in a new folder, I want to change the project folder in the pool, so all recorded audio files will be placed together with the song in the new folder. I tried selecting "file" - "new library" - selecting the folder, that I want to use, but it does not change the folder in the pool. So when I record vocals, they are still being placed in "new projects", and not in the folder together with the song.
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

jtay
New Member
Posts: 48
Joined: Thu Mar 22, 2012 6:28 am
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by jtay »

I believe you are looking for the "Backup Project" option, found in the "File" menu. This allows you to save a project and all its associated files to a new location.
Windows 7 x64 | Cubase 8.0.40 Pro | Focusrite Scarlett 8i6
AMD FX 8320 | 32GB DDR3 | ASUS M5A99FX Pro R2.0 | 500GB SSD Samsung 840 EVO (samples) | 500GB SSD Samsung 850 EVO (samples)| 1TB HDD WD Black 7200RPM (OS, DAW)
Instruments from EastWest, Spectrasonics, Toontrack
Effects from Waves

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by rumlee »

jtay wrote:I believe you are looking for the "Backup Project" option, found in the "File" menu. This allows you to save a project and all its associated files to a new location.
nope thats not what i am looking for. I want to change the location of the project folder in the "pool", so when i record vocals, the files ends up where i want them, and not in the new project folder.
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by Grim »

Why wouldn't you want your audio to be in the project folder?

Anyhow.....There is no way to change this from inside the pool. If you create a project folder at start then you can't move those files on your hard drive while the project is running from those files.

If you have prompt for project location ticked in the project assistant you can set a project folder whenever you create a new project.

Other than this as jtay suggests, you would have to use backup project to new folder to create a copy of the project in another location.
Make sure Keep Current Project Active is unticked and you will automatically be working to the new folder. You can then delete the original once you're sure the new copy is fully working.

NB: To be clear, audio folders are always within the project folder. You can't set the record folder outside of the project folder.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

User avatar
rumlee
Member
Posts: 390
Joined: Sun Dec 27, 2015 1:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by rumlee »

Grim wrote:Why wouldn't you want your audio to be in the project folder?

Anyhow.....There is no way to change this from inside the pool. If you create a project folder at start then you can't move those files on your hard drive while the project is running from those files.

If you have prompt for project location ticked in the project assistant you can set a project folder whenever you create a new project.

Other than this as jtay suggests, you would have to use backup project to new folder to create a copy of the project in another location.
Make sure Keep Current Project Active is unticked and you will automatically be working to the new folder. You can then delete the original once you're sure the new copy is fully working.

NB: To be clear, audio folders are always within the project folder. You can't set the record folder outside of the project folder.
You do not understand. I do not want my recorded audio files to be out side the project folder, but i want a different location of the entire project6 folder. When I create a new song, as default, the project folder is called "new projects". But if i decide to save the song in its own folder, i want to change the project folder from "new project" to the folder containing the song. I do not want my future recorded audio files to go into the "new project" folder. Its very simple but maybe I am not explaining it, so it is understandeble
Cubase Pro 8.5.30, Wavelab Elements 9.0.35, Win 10 64 bit, cpu - Core i7-6700K 4 x 4 ghz quad core, DDR4-2666 32 GB RAM kingston hyperx fury, Nvidia Asus GTX 980 4 GB STRIX, SSD Samsung 950 pro 512 GB, SSD Samsung 850 EVO 500 GB, Seagate 1000 GB 7200rpm, Presonus Studio 192 interface + many VSTs...

User avatar
Grim
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5064
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 5:08 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by Grim »

It's not that I don't understand. It just doesn't work how you want it to. You've been given the correct answer multiple times but are not accepting it.

If you set prompt for project location in assistant you can set a specific folder at project creation.

If you already started the project in the default folder you must use backup to new folder.
i7 5820k @3.7Ghz, 16Gb, W10Pro, Cubase 9.0x, Cubase 8.5.x, Audient iD22, Zoom UAC-2, Wavelab Elements 9.x, Nektar Impact GX61

Manike
Member
Posts: 899
Joined: Fri Nov 04, 2011 3:21 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by Manike »

back up does change where the audio files are stored otherwise it wouldn't be a backup..
8-Core Trashcan Mac Pro : Catalina : Cubase10.5.20 : MOTU828x : Nektar P6 :
Macbook pro : Catalina
http://www.manikemusic.com

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by jimmys69 »

Manike wrote:back up does change where the audio files are stored otherwise it wouldn't be a backup..
Edit: Oops, misread. :oops:
Last edited by jimmys69 on Thu Apr 28, 2016 1:46 pm, edited 1 time in total.
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

jimmys69
Member
Posts: 807
Joined: Sat Dec 25, 2010 7:41 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by jimmys69 »

rumlee wrote:
Grim wrote:Why wouldn't you want your audio to be in the project folder?

Anyhow.....There is no way to change this from inside the pool. If you create a project folder at start then you can't move those files on your hard drive while the project is running from those files.

If you have prompt for project location ticked in the project assistant you can set a project folder whenever you create a new project.

Other than this as jtay suggests, you would have to use backup project to new folder to create a copy of the project in another location.
Make sure Keep Current Project Active is unticked and you will automatically be working to the new folder. You can then delete the original once you're sure the new copy is fully working.

NB: To be clear, audio folders are always within the project folder. You can't set the record folder outside of the project folder.
You do not understand. I do not want my recorded audio files to be out side the project folder, but i want a different location of the entire project6 folder. When I create a new song, as default, the project folder is called "new projects". But if i decide to save the song in its own folder, i want to change the project folder from "new project" to the folder containing the song. I do not want my future recorded audio files to go into the "new project" folder. Its very simple but maybe I am not explaining it, so it is understandeble
Then from what I understand you asking, the answer above is in fact correct. :)

Back up Project. Create a new folder and work from that new folder.

And as grim stated, in the future check that the 'Prompt for project location' is checked in the Project Assistant page so this doesn't happen again. :)
PC Win7-64-16G i7-4790k/Cubase 5-6-7 32 bit, Cubase 8-9 Pro 64-bit/2-Steinberg UR824's/ADAM A7X/Event TR8/SS Trigger Plat Deluxe/Melodyne Editor

beerbong
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by beerbong »

Manike wrote:back up does change where the audio files are stored otherwise it wouldn't be a backup..
There is a 'bug' (IMHO) in this process, still.
If you start a project in one directory, create audio files then backup the project to a new directory.
The files won't change unless you close down Cubase and reopen the project.
Sometimes if you don't close, the files won't change then you'll get into a situation with files in both directories, or you think they are backed up and really they aren't. (you can check by looking in the Pool..) :geek:
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

J-S-Q
Member
Posts: 986
Joined: Fri Jan 14, 2011 1:45 pm
Location: London, UK
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by J-S-Q »

The problem with the current setup is that if you use 'Backup Project' then all the audio files used in the project will be copied to the new folder. Often I don't want this to happen because I might be using various sounds from my sample library and I don't want my hard drive filled up with duplicates of the same samples when I use them in many different projects.

I would like to be able to change the project folder so that all the audio files currently used will remain where they are BUT all future audio recordings appear in the new folder.
Cubase Pro 9, Win10
CPU: AMD Threadripper 1920X. MOTHERBOARD: Gigabyte Aorus X399. RAM: 16GB Corsair Vengeance LPX. GRAPHICS CARD: Gigabyte GV-N96TSL GeForce 9600GT. SYSTEM DRIVE: Samsung 950 Pro M.2 SSD. AUDIO INTERFACE: Steinberg MR816-CSX CONTROLLER: Avid S3, Avid Artist Transport

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by GargoyleStudio »

Here's what I do... I copy the project folder and give it a new name, then when I open the project it prompts me to use the Old Audio folder or the New Audio folder. I select New and I now have a copy of the project where audio will be recorded in the new Audio folder not the old one. Also, look in the pool and you will see that all the audio files already recorded are located in the new Audio/Project folder (they were copied in the first step, and Cubase is using the copies not the originals).

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

beerbong
Member
Posts: 847
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by beerbong »

J-S-Q wrote:The problem with the current setup is that if you use 'Backup Project' then all the audio files used in the project will be copied to the new folder. Often I don't want this to happe...
I really wish the same, I want the folder location to not be greyed out (in Pool) and can be changed, followed by a 'prepare archive' command, that would be fantastic and give better control for projects.

I want it for times when I don't want to re-copy anything, sometimes I don't want a resave which changes time/date metadata of files.
And ofc when i need to effectively 'backup' but don't want to use a brand new folder.
BB - Intel Quad/RME/Nvidia Video, RME Raydat, Win10 Home
Cubase 8.5 64 bit / Cubase 9.5 / Wavelab Elements / Halion 6 / Padshop Pro

tam2000k2
New Member
Posts: 16
Joined: Sat Dec 24, 2011 3:29 am
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by tam2000k2 »

When I want to change the project folder, I go to File> Save as Template, followed by giving it a name, then I close the current project.

Go to File> New, select the template that I just created, give the new default project location, with a new folder. From there, you go to Project> Pool and the new location has been set correctly
Thanks in advance

User avatar
sj1
Junior Member
Posts: 130
Joined: Wed Jul 03, 2013 7:03 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by sj1 »

I appreciate both the statements of facts and the methods of working found above.

I will state though that I also agree that being able to change the Project Folder (as seen) in the Pool window is greatly to be desired.

Foresight is never 20/20 (at least mine is not), and I *often* want to move things around on disk either to store them in a different location entirely, or to rename a project and/or it's folder. Also sometimes I want to merge projects into a single folder, or separate projects out of a single folder into multiple folders. In all of these cases, I find myself wishing to simply change the Project Folder reference in the .cpr file to point where I know I've put things (i.e. the Audio), and where I want new recordings to take place.

Because 'Back up Project' will not allow us to target the backup to a non-empty folder, often the only way to accomplish my desired reorg is a tedious process of folder A rename, new folder B create, doing 'Back up Project', save .cpr to folder B, folder B rename, folder A rename, copy from folder B to folder A, delete folder B. Whew! All this just to get the Project Folder set as desired in the Pool of the .cpr file. I really would rather just be able to edit that path in the Pool window!
Cubase 10.5 Pro, Absolute 4, Groove Agent, Dorico, Win 10 Pro, Korg OASYS, Yamaha Motif XS, KARMA
(Cubase user since the Atari ST days)

User avatar
GargoyleStudio
Senior Member
Posts: 1819
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:58 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by GargoyleStudio »

+1 for a button to change the project folder. It would make life so much easier when using scratch projects to catch different creative moments which need to be split up separate projects at a later time.

Mike.
[Win10x64 latest, Cb10.5 latest, MOTU PCIe, UAD2, Waves, Soundtoys, O9N, Arturia, Omnisphere]

eepyikes
Junior Member
Posts: 94
Joined: Tue Aug 18, 2015 12:23 am
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by eepyikes »

+1 for being able to change the project folder from the pool window. "Backup project" doesn't make sense in this context. A backup is a backup. A duplicate, a secondary copy. Having to "backup" to use a primary copy is a little weird. We're not trying to make duplicates of the project, we're trying to keep our current project and change where future audio will be recorded to.

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by compositor »

Found this on Google.

+2

I store all my projects in OneDrive, and the last thing I want is audio files syncing when I haven't even checked them.

By now, one would think the Pool would be obsolete and there would be improved MediaBay options available.

marlonking
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Mon Apr 16, 2018 8:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by marlonking »

I have just found this thread looking for a similar answer, so to confirm in 2018...

My situation, I created several new projects at the same time (coping files from a big recording session in one project). I had started recording on track 3 and realised afterwards all my files were going in to project 1 audio folder. I can see in the pool window the "project folder" which is unable to be changed (set to track 1/audio).

So to confirm, currently on version 9 you can't change the project folder. (not sure if this differs on 9.5 onwards).

I did find this help article, but all this did was create a folder inside the audio folder of the wrong project (ie track 1/audio/newfolder/):

https://steinberg.help/cubase_pro_artis ... ing_t.html

So, to confirm, I tried the advice above in this thread. saved my project, created a new folder "track 3 V2" and backed up the project to that folder, deselecting "keep current project active" and making sure the files were copied over. Afterwards, I closed the current project and opened the new one and it worked like a treat. I could also see the files had copied into the new folder and most important....

The new project was using the new project folder in the pool window.

Hope that clears up some of the answers above.

pwoehl
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Wed Jun 03, 2015 10:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by pwoehl »

+1 on being able to change the project folder path in an existing project. Backups, templates and the rest are cumbersome workarounds.
Gigabyte z270x mobo, Intel i7-7700 @ 3.6 GHz CPU, 32GB DDR4 RAM, 1TB NVMe m.2 SSD, 2 500GB SSD's, Universal Audio Apollo x8p, 8 and UAD-2 satellite, Windows 10 Pro, Cubase Pro 10.5, WaveLab Pro 10, Ableton Live 10

compositor
Junior Member
Posts: 144
Joined: Sat Nov 18, 2017 11:23 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by compositor »

Move project, re-open, save; prompted for new project location.

OnyxMystique
New Member
Posts: 11
Joined: Sat Jun 04, 2016 1:19 am
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by OnyxMystique »

compositor wrote:
Mon Nov 19, 2018 3:26 am
Move project, re-open, save; prompted for new project location.
Yeah, I tried that and my project wouldn’t open at all. It’s just not that simple when you move a folder that has audio in another project’s pool. This problem has been paralyzing for me because I have just been using past projects and renaming them so all of my projects and pools are intermingled. It’s a big mess. I bought a back up drive to start storing projects but I can’t move any of them because of this pool intermingling mess. I have Cubasis also and there is no problem copying projects to start new ones.

I’m going to try this “Save as Template” idea above and see if that works. Ironically, this all started because my first project was a template. But I just renamed it and saved it for each new song, which caused the pool to be saved in the previous project. How stupid. Why would anyone want the audio pool to be in a different project folder? I really had problems when my folders would go up into the cloud after not being accessed for a while and the active project couldn’t access the cloud saved pool audio. So much time trying to figure all this out.

So I guess you have to choose “save as template” each time to make sure the pool stays in the project folder if you are starting with a template or another song. Now I know. Sigh.

Update 1:
No, the template method did not work. It actually creates a Project folder in the pool that says “untitled” even after I created a new folder, renamed the project and saved the newly named project in the new folder. It also lists the pool record folder as “Media/Audio.” That’s not going to work. Time to try the Back Up Method. Wish me Luck.

Update 2:
Yes, the back up method does work! Yay! Now I can surgically remove all of my projects from one another and start moving the finished projects into my back up drive. That will be a headache, but it’s better than feeling paralyzed. Btw, all of the pool record folders say “Media/Audio.” I didn’t notice that before. I’m using Cubase 9.5. I hope this helps someone else.

randiebam
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Nov 05, 2019 11:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Change project folder in pool

Post by randiebam »

Ultimate solution:

We assume that you already saved your project in a new folder but the audio and project folder are still at the old location

Step 1:
Save and close the project. Rename the new project folder to something slightly different, doesn't matter what.
Step 2:
Open the project from the new folder again. It'll ask you to assign a new project folder. Select the one you want to be the actual project folder.
Step 3:
Save and close the project. Move the audio files from the old folder to the new one (where you first need to create an 'Audio' folder). Or copy them over there. It's just important that the ones in the old folder aren't there anymore.
Step 4: Re-open your project. It'll be like "????? where da files man" and then you can select your new audio folder with the 'Folder' button.

After that you just change the name of your new folder back to the actual one and you're fine. :) Hope it helps!

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests