Cubase 8 plugins with win7 to win10 upgrade

Post general topics related to Cubase Pro 8, Cubase Artist 8 and Cubase Elements 8 here.
Post Reply
Seanthebooth
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:51 pm
Contact:

Cubase 8 plugins with win7 to win10 upgrade

Post by Seanthebooth »

Using cubase 8.
My pc is having trouble upgrading from 7 to 10, before I buy a new hd to do a fresh win10 install how difficult is it to move cubase over along with all plugins as it is?

Can i copy the plugins folder from c/progfiles/cubase & just drop it into the new folder once i reinstall cubase 8 on the new hd?

Or will i have to reinstall plugins from disks/executables?

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4499
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 plugins with win7 to win10 upgrade

Post by raino »

If you want to copy your existing system disk to a new larger drive, the way to do it is to clone the disk. There are a lot of utilities out there to do this. I use the Free version of EaseUS Backup for both cloning and regular daily backups.

https://www.easeus.com/backup-software/
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

Seanthebooth
New Member
Posts: 2
Joined: Sun Jun 28, 2020 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 plugins with win7 to win10 upgrade

Post by Seanthebooth »

I dont want to clone, I just want to be sure the plugins associated with cubase 8 aren't lost in the operating system upgrade. The upgrade isnt going smoothly so I'm expecting to do a fresh install of win 10. Trying to determine if there is a file chain I can drag/drop into the new cubase program files to have plugin packs in tact. Not sure I know where all my plugin disks/exe's are.

User avatar
raino
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4499
Joined: Tue Dec 21, 2010 2:41 am
Location: San Francisco
Contact:

Re: Cubase 8 plugins with win7 to win10 upgrade

Post by raino »

If you are installing stuff on a totally new system, then it needs to be reinstalled not copied. Installing a program or plug-in does more than just sticking files in specific location, such as making registry changes. The installer knows what it needs to do, most of us don't.
rodger

Cubase Pro 10.5, Win10 Home, Halion6, Groove Agent 5, WaveLab Pro 10, BFD3, GPO, Komplete Ultimate 9, Waves Gold, Misc. other

i7 4771 Haswell Processor 3.5GHz, ADK LGA1150, 16GB RAM, GeForce GTX970, RME Fireface 400, 2x UAD-2

Latest: Bawdy Politik https://rodgerraino.bandcamp.com/releases

Post Reply

Return to “General”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests