Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
chikitin
Senior Member
Posts: 1149
Joined: Mon May 16, 2016 3:15 am
Contact:

Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by chikitin »

Hi Everyone,

I lately noticed that Steinberg products mainly Cubase and hardware are really stable on Windows. I noticed that I am spending too much on the stability issues on Mac. I am seriously considering changing my system to Windows 10.

With my budget, I should be able to get a great windows system with 64GB ram, 128 GB, and Core i9 processor. I just need to see if someone has already switched and what should I consider before I switch to windows.

If you refer me to a suitable Dell computer ( preferably All-in-one), this would be much appreciated.
Laptop: iMac, 16GB RAM SSD 2TB, Cubase Pro the latest w/ two external Monitors and SBX subwoofer
VST Connect Pro, NI Komplete 5, EWQLSO, HSO, GA 5
Synths: Yamaha PSR-A3000, Roland Fantom XR
Interface: Steinberg MR-816CSX, UR 22 mkII
Effects: Rocktron DSP, Lexicon MPX 550
Controller: Steinberg CC121, Yamaha KX25,49,88, Korg Nano Kontrol, Boss RC 300, Yamaha MFC 10, CMC-PD

keith_s
New Member
Posts: 34
Joined: Tue Aug 28, 2018 11:43 am
Contact:

Re: Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by keith_s »

I think you have answered your own question. Go to Windows. The minimum specs are shown in the Steinberg shop I think, but it is always better to beef up the machine past these specs I would imagine.
I run mac and 10.5 is not as stable as 10.0. But there you go, its all software at the end of the day.
Cubase 10.5.12 | IMac High Sierra 10.13.6 | Roland Quad Capture

wave100
New Member
Posts: 6
Joined: Tue Jan 24, 2017 11:54 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by wave100 »

Hi - I went the other way! From windows to Mac...
In my experience, Win 10 is basically as reliable as Mac OS for music, however Windows doesn't handle MIDI as well as Mac OS. On Mac, you can plug in a MIDI device and it will just be recognised by the application, on Windows you need to restart the app before the device is available. Also on Mac you can have more than one MIDI app open at the same time, not so on Windows. As an example, I have an editor/librarian for my Moog Sub Phatty, on Mac I can run it and Cubase at the same time. Also on Windows, that editor requires two MIDI connections, one for note data and one for the editor itself. I have a Roli block controller which works via Bluetooth MIDI on Mac, but needs a wired connection for my PC.

However I am not a Mac fanboy, these MIDI quirks may not affect you in any way depending on your setup. I would only recommend a Mac if you need a mobile solution as windows laptops can be a bit hit and miss for music. If you want a desktop, Windows gives much better bang for buck.

It's worth saying that it's a good idea to optimise a Windows machine for music recording to get the best performance, many guides are available on the internet.
13" MacbookPro late 2012, OS X 10.11.6, Cubase Pro 8.0.40, SPL Crimson, Komplete 10, Arturia V collection 4

User avatar
Bytorsbite
New Member
Posts: 13
Joined: Mon Apr 18, 2011 3:39 am
Contact:

Re: Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by Bytorsbite »

As a Mac user considering switching to Windows for Cubase and wavelab, I’m wondering about viruses. What do I need to consider to keep a windows machine secure.
MacBook Pro (Retina, 15-inch, Mid 2014) 2.8 GHz Intel Core i7, 2-HP 27xi Displays, I/O Presonus 6/8, Cubase 10.5, Wavelab 9, HALion Sonic 3, HSO, Spectrasonics Trilian, Superior Drummer 3, EZ Drummer 2, EZ Keys, EZ Bass, IK Amplitube 4, IK Modo Bass

skijumptoes
Member
Posts: 624
Joined: Tue May 07, 2019 9:51 pm
Contact:

Re: Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by skijumptoes »

I moved from Mac to Win10 machine, and love it. Was dreading the worse and only done it because i was unhappy with the direction of MacOS and Apple hardware no longer being user serviceable. But thought i'd give it a go, and if it didn't work out i could justify sticking with Macs... Never looked back.

You've just gotta be a little careful with some hardware as some cause windows DPC latency... So if you buy an off the shelf machine just give it a quick google search to confirm it's suitability.

User avatar
Scab Pickens
Senior Member
Posts: 1879
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 7:27 am
Location: Davenport, IA USA
Contact:

Re: Windows vs Mac Cubase and Steinberg hardware

Post by Scab Pickens »

wave100 wrote:
Fri Jul 03, 2020 11:36 am
... On Mac, you can plug in a MIDI device and it will just be recognised by the application, on Windows you need to restart the app before the device is available. ...
I see Cubase 8 in your signature. Just wanted to point out this isn't the case with Cubase on Windows anymore.
Windows 10 | Cubase Pro 10.5 | WaveLab Elements 8 | Dorico 3 SE | Focusrite Pro 40

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests