UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Find topics on computers, studios and music-related hardware.
Post Reply
User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4260
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by MattiasNYC »

It used to be a problem (or impossible) to run the solo, duo and quad cards on Ryzen systems, but at least on Asus boards they now seem to work fine.

Motherboard: Asus Prime x370-A
BIOS: 4207 (2018/12/14)
Windows 10 - 1809, build 17763.348

Just in case anyone could use the info.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
NathanBros
Junior Member
Posts: 88
Joined: Fri Oct 21, 2016 3:02 pm
Location: Super Mario World
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by NathanBros »

Noted, thanks for sharing.
"Interested in time travel? Meet here last Thursday, 7 pm."
Checkout my instruments/effects blog: Free VST Plugins Download.

strano68
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Mon Mar 10, 2014 12:12 am
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by strano68 »

Hi, I bought Asus Prime 470 Pro with Ryzen 2700x. In the system there are Uad2 Quad Pcie, Apollo Usb duo, Cubase 10.5 and Win10.
Everything is Ok, Very low latency, it looks a tape recorder... Im very happy!

st33l
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by st33l »

I bought a new pc. Gigabyte x570 master and ryzen 3950x. My uad2 solo cards dont work for me. Any ideas what to try?
Cubase 10.0.40 Pro, Apollo x6, 32gb corsair 3200 mhz ram, i7 7820x skylake x @4200mhz, samsung ssd:s and nvme.2 drives, 2x UAD2 solo, audient 880, rane hc6, LA-610 MKII, warm audio EQP-WA, Presonus central station, Kramer guitars, Esp guitars, Axe FX II, Kempers, Matrix and Mesa amps, Marshall and Randall 4x12 cabinets, Neumann, shure, akg mics, Ebs basspreamp, Roland td12 ddrumkit, Superior Drummer 3.12. Windows 10 64bit

matthewmooremusic
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by matthewmooremusic »

Interesting post. Something I want to check into before buying the ryzen. I have an octo pcie. I wonder if it's the chipset on the motherboard that is the issue?

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4260
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by MattiasNYC »

matthewmooremusic wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:28 pm
Interesting post. Something I want to check into before buying the ryzen. I have an octo pcie. I wonder if it's the chipset on the motherboard that is the issue?
As far as it was explained to me there is some 'address' that PCI devices get, and that address has a certain amount of digits or whatever. So quite simply, the earlier versions of UAD-2 don't conform to a current standard, and there was no way for UA to do anything to make them work. Physically there wasn't enough space to fit assigned addresses. Something like that. So that applied to the solo, duo and quad cards.

The Octo however was a later device and never had this particular problem as far as I know.

So I'm not sure what happened to fix this but I think perhaps motherboard makers updated their BIOS to accept shorter address names or something along those lines.

If you want an actual explanation that's detailed and certainly more correct than mine then you can search forums like the UAD-2 forum, Gearslutz and maybe ASUS, and search for uad-2, "address" maybe... something like that. Sorry for being vabue.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4260
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by MattiasNYC »

st33l wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 5:50 pm
I bought a new pc. Gigabyte x570 master and ryzen 3950x. My uad2 solo cards dont work for me. Any ideas what to try?
I don't have Gigabyte boards, neither the newer x570.

I'd certainly try by installing as few PCIe cards as possible to start. So graphics and UAD-2 only. And then I'd start with the graphics card in the best slot and simply try the UA card in all other slots. Unfortunately I'm not sure if you need to uninstall the driver between swapping the slot. You may have to, can't recall. And lastly of course if nothing works try the graphics card in a "lesser" slot.

You may want to look into which BIOS version you have and see if other people with a Gigabyte board are running a UAD-2... and if they are check what BIOS version they're using.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

matthewmooremusic
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by matthewmooremusic »

MattiasNYC wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 10:15 pm
matthewmooremusic wrote:
Mon Feb 24, 2020 6:28 pm
Interesting post. Something I want to check into before buying the ryzen. I have an octo pcie. I wonder if it's the chipset on the motherboard that is the issue?
As far as it was explained to me there is some 'address' that PCI devices get, and that address has a certain amount of digits or whatever. So quite simply, the earlier versions of UAD-2 don't conform to a current standard, and there was no way for UA to do anything to make them work. Physically there wasn't enough space to fit assigned addresses. Something like that. So that applied to the solo, duo and quad cards.

The Octo however was a later device and never had this particular problem as far as I know.

So I'm not sure what happened to fix this but I think perhaps motherboard makers updated their BIOS to accept shorter address names or something along those lines.

If you want an actual explanation that's detailed and certainly more correct than mine then you can search forums like the UAD-2 forum, Gearslutz and maybe ASUS, and search for uad-2, "address" maybe... something like that. Sorry for being vabue.
Thanks that's useful. Searching and posting on the UAD forum I'm getting lots of "it should" but nobody actually comitting to saying it does :-) I'll keep searching and posting though. Thanks again

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4260
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by MattiasNYC »

matthewmooremusic wrote:
Fri Feb 28, 2020 12:09 pm
Thanks that's useful. Searching and posting on the UAD forum I'm getting lots of "it should" but nobody actually comitting to saying it does :-) I'll keep searching and posting though. Thanks again
Sorry, I should have linked you to this earlier:

https://www.gearslutz.com/board/music-c ... hread.html

That's a thread on Ryzen + UAD-2 (solo/duo/quad). You can give that a read-through and see if you find anything useful there.
Nuendo 10.2.2 build 396 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

matthewmooremusic
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by matthewmooremusic »

Thanks. I'll take a look 😁😁😁😁

st33l
Junior Member
Posts: 64
Joined: Fri Jan 31, 2014 12:30 pm
Location: Sweden
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by st33l »

this is what gigabyte answered me when i told my 2 uad2-solo card doesnt workon my x570 master mobo

"Which slot did you install the UAD card? It seems that you have connected several devices.
Please enabled the Above 4G Decoding to see if it works.
BIOS path: Settings --> IO Ports --> Above 4G Decoding --> Enabled"

I havent had time to try this out yet but in some days i will go to my studio and see if it works
Cubase 10.0.40 Pro, Apollo x6, 32gb corsair 3200 mhz ram, i7 7820x skylake x @4200mhz, samsung ssd:s and nvme.2 drives, 2x UAD2 solo, audient 880, rane hc6, LA-610 MKII, warm audio EQP-WA, Presonus central station, Kramer guitars, Esp guitars, Axe FX II, Kempers, Matrix and Mesa amps, Marshall and Randall 4x12 cabinets, Neumann, shure, akg mics, Ebs basspreamp, Roland td12 ddrumkit, Superior Drummer 3.12. Windows 10 64bit

Norbury Brook
Member
Posts: 839
Joined: Thu Jan 20, 2011 11:40 am
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by Norbury Brook »

I tried on my ASRock Taichu x570 forcing the PCI to gen3 but my solo doesn't get recognised at all.


M
ASRock x570 Taichi -Ryzen 3950x-16 core -32 gigs 3600 DDR4- AMD 580- Windows 10 x64-OSX Mojave- AXR4-Euphonix mix,Transport-CC121-Cubase 10.5.x

chris995
Member
Posts: 206
Joined: Mon Mar 26, 2012 4:02 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by chris995 »

I am using a Gigabyte Designaire TR40 and UAD pcie solo and duo cards do not work

matthewmooremusic
Junior Member
Posts: 93
Joined: Wed Jan 15, 2020 3:47 pm
Contact:

Re: UAD-2 PCIe on Ryzen now works.

Post by matthewmooremusic »

There's a bios update for my board (Extreme 4 x570) that supposedly improves things for UAD cards....

Post Reply

Return to “Computer/Studio Hardware & Setup”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests