PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Hello guys,

I am using Cubase for many years now... and I am still missing a very important and cool feature.

Well maybe it already exists and I don't know about it... but I doubt very much :)

Let me explain what I still miss in my process of creating music. Lets say you are working on a whole album with 10+ songs... so naturally you will use separate sessions for each song. OK, now you have 10 or more sessions and it's time to mix them all in a row. At this stage you probably need most track settings (drums, bass, maybe even guitars or even vocals) adjusted exactly the same (EQ, pan and volume settings). At least for starting point. So far I have not found any option to adjust all 9 sessions after the 1st one with 1 or 2 clicks... there are only options to copy/paste settings on each channel or export track archives... but this all takes too much time... Therefore Steinberg team should make something easier where one can save and copy whole bunch of track settings and routing or even full sessions with one click. The easiest way would be to use the track names as the anchor point for copy/paste all setting from one session to another.

If Cubase team needs some help with detailed suggestions I am willing to give more input on this...

Regards, Purusha
God is the ability in men!

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

I hope my post will get some attention from the Steinberg Cubase team...
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
vic_france
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3330
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:16 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by vic_france »

I think we all agree on that one ;)
In the meantime, another possibility might be to drag'n'drop Parts from one Project onto the corresponding tracks of the original Project.
Mac Pro Quad-Core (2009) 2.66 GHz | 16GB RAM | MOTU PCI-424/2408mk3|MOTU Midi Timepiece AV | Mac OS X 10.9.5 | Cubase 9.5.0| Logic Pro X 10.2.2| ProTools 11.3.1| Ableton Live 9.7.5| Reaper 562 | Studio One Pro 3.5.1

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Conman »

Yes, there is. They call it Wavelab.

Meanwhile Vic's advice is sound. For some things you have to use your own ingenuity and not the programmer's.
In fact using your own routine then explaining how you do it here makes it easier for the programmer to either make a function easier to understand or to program that function to a one-key operation.
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Wow, drag'n drop seems like a great idea. For example we could import all settings from a certain session in a special import setting window. There you would see the names of the tracks and just drag'n drop them where ever you need or choose to replace the settings of the tracks with same name. Both options should be there.
God is the ability in men!

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

And since I brought this idea up, I should get a free upgrade when this feature is available :mrgreen:
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

You can already drag events between projects.
Save a track preset for the FX
Use project templates to save routings.

There are other little shortcuts for this. But really the track and mixer presets make it really easy to get a configuration between projects.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Can you give more specific step by step instructions?
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Audio drag will bring all inserts. Sends are not brought over.
Image
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Image
Last edited by JMCecil on Sat Mar 12, 2011 8:25 pm, edited 1 time in total.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

hmm.. that's caps didn't come out very good. Sorry about that. In both cases I was dragging from an existing project to an empty project.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Thanks for the trouble, but I can't figure out from your gif what you are doing...

So you have two sessions open at the same time... do you drag tracks or just settings from one to another?

Maybe it will be easier if you try to describe it with words. ;)
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Purusha wrote:Thanks for the trouble, but I can't figure out from your gif what you are doing...

So you have two sessions open at the same time... do you drag tracks or just settings from one to another?

Maybe it will be easier if you try to describe it with words. ;)
From my original post
You can drag EVENTS between projects.
Save a track preset for the FX
Use project templates to save routings.
I'm grabbing either the MIDI event or the Audio events and dropping in the other project. All insert settings come with them. Sends do not.

EDIT: the screen grab actually worked, but when I scaled to the 700w setting required by this site, it jacked them up. Let me see if I can do a capture that has everything you need to see in it.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

If it's not a problem you can send it over by email to tat.purusha(at)gmail.com.
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Purusha wrote:If it's not a problem you can send it over by email to tat.purusha(at)gmail.com.
I replaced the midi one, scroll up and see if that answers your question
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

So you just grabbed a midi track from one session to another? Is this what you are showing in the gif file?
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Yes, not sure how to say it any clearer. You can grab any event from one project and drag it to another. All insert settings come along. Sends don't.

If you have a FX chain you like, save it as a track preset and load it in the other project.

There are two major limitations to all track saving options in Cubase regardless of where you do the save. Routings and Sends don't save. So, what we really want is a multi-track save. So, we can pop drums back in with all routings, group channels, sends and so on. My guess is that we will get some of that when we get multi-channel support on instrument tracks. As in multi-track track presets. Then maybe they will work on allowing the sends.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Purusha wrote:So you just grabbed a midi track
OOOPS...I said yes on the previous post. The answer is NO. Look where the mouse is. I grabbed the PART/EVENT not the TRACK .. huge difference.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Thanks a lot for the tips! I will play with what you suggested.

I really hope someone in the team is working on this to make it better :)
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Purusha wrote:I really hope someone in the team is working on this to make it better :)
Of the shortcomings I mentioned (routings, sends, multi-channel) they are already working on at least some of it for multi-out VSTi.

It's hard to tell because Steinberg does not communicate HOW they implement anything. But, from the carefully stated "working on it" statements, we will get multi-track template support.

What is hard to tell is if they will do a great thing and make it multi-out TRACK template support, or if they will just dodge it all and only make multi-out instrument templates that only include the channels created by the VSTi. The later is my guess, but we can always hope.

In either case it is impossible to know if sends will be part of the template. Sends are such an integral part of a track that again we can only hope they are working on this as well. But, I have seen no comments that suggest they are.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

Purusha
New Member
Posts: 26
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 9:05 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Purusha »

Is there any way to give them suggestions?
God is the ability in men!

User avatar
JMCecil
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 3621
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:03 pm
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by JMCecil »

Purusha wrote:Is there any way to give them suggestions?
Only if you are friends with Timbaland. If so, you can ask him to have them make you a useless VSTi that does something like display random color splotches on the screen to a 4/4 beat.
cpu:i7 6950x - RAM:128gb - OS:Win 10 - Interfaces:Lynx Aurora, Komplete Audio 6 - MIDI:Midisport 4x4, Quadra Thru
Steiny Suff: CMC:FD,CH,TP,QC,PD | Wavelab 9 | Cubase VST-32->9 | H5, GA4, HSO, Padshop Pro, Cubasis, iC Pro

User avatar
Strophoid
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4648
Joined: Sun Dec 26, 2010 2:56 pm
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Strophoid »

That's for all of us who aren't synesthetes. 8-)
Software: Steinberg Cubase Pro 8 64-bit.
Hardware: Intel i5 6600, 16Gb DDR3, Win7 64-bit
Mackie Onyx 1620i - Steinberg Midex 8 - Steinberg CC121.

My humble contributions to what could be considered music.

Como Baila
Member
Posts: 631
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:54 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by Como Baila »

Hmmm ... I would never be rude and mention that Reaper has had multi track multi channel out instrument presets for a couple of years now. That wouldn't be nice, now would it?

I have Stylus RMX setup that way ... one click to get to the track presets and one click to select it to come up with 8 audio and 8 midi tracks perfectly integrated and all wrapped in a folder track. Nice!

But, besides how Mrs. Lincoln enjoyed the play anyway, what about the project template route as a partial solution to your dilemma?

What I don't know is how many tracks your projects typically have and whether this is primarily production with midi and VSTi or recording.

Regardless, if you use a common structure for all the projects before you put them together, then you can simply import the audio and line the different projects up with markers.

You're pretty much always going to have most of the same instruments, or better said category of voice: drums, bass, keys, synths, vocals, lead guitar, rhythm guitar, etc. So set up bus structure with grouping for the voices and use the same structure consistently. Keep your projects 'dry' and don't worry about the FX sends (or inserts ... depending on which of the two way below would work better for you) till after it's composed and then add them in the final group project after you transfer.

If you import the audio into a final project with all the same routing, then you just lay the bass files song by song on the same track you used in each project. Then you can route through a common sub bus and set your sends accordingly. The downside is that you couldn't have different FX for the bass ... but you could have rendered them out of the original projects with the FX you wanted.

Really, if you don't have a ridiculous amount of tracks ... say only 8 to 10 per project, you could set up markers in the master project and just start the different songs each at a different marker across the project time line ... but each new song with each part, as the bass for example, on different tracks but routed to the same bus structure. You could FX each part of each song individually and send to common busses for a unified sound. Of course if you used, for examples, a lot of tempo tracks, a master project key, arranger track, etc., this would get really complicated.

What would work best really depends a lot on the nature of how the individual projects are put together. If this is all recorded material, then using one project with markers and multiple tracks should work well.

Como
Win7x64 C6-32 Intel MOBO Dual Dualcore Xeon 3ghz Processors - RME Multiface II PCIe - Echo Layla24 - Mackie 824 Monitors - Mackie Controller Universal Pro - Mackie Big Knob - 2 UAD2 Quads - Novation SL 61 MK II - StudioLogic 880 Pro - Roland XV5080 - Korg Radias R - Emu CS PK-7 - MOTU Midi Timepiece AV Parallel - A Designs Pacifica - Mackie Onyx 800R - Mics - Controllers - Software - Stuff

roger-s.
Member
Posts: 273
Joined: Mon Dec 20, 2010 9:52 am
Contact:

Re: PLEASE READ what I am still missing in Cubase 6

Post by roger-s. »

Purusha wrote:Hello guys,
At this stage you probably need most track settings (drums, bass, maybe even guitars or even vocals) adjusted exactly the same (EQ, pan and volume settings). At least for starting point. So far I have not found any option to adjust all 9 sessions after the 1st one with 1 or 2 clicks... there are only options to copy/paste settings on each channel or export track archives... but this all takes too much time... Therefore Steinberg team should make something easier where one can save and copy whole bunch of track settings and routing or even full sessions with one click. The easiest way would be to use the track names as the anchor point for copy/paste all setting from one session to another.

If Cubase team needs some help with detailed suggestions I am willing to give more input on this...

Regards, Purusha
You may try this one:

There is the option to SAVE AS TEMPLATE, with that you can save a project with all the ins and outs already routed and open it from FILE -> NEW PROJECT. This includes all the EQs, inserts and sends too...
And as we are not ProTools, we can have several projects open. After opening your template simply drag & drop the files from your original project to the corresponding track in the new template-based one.

Hope this helps.
All the best.

Roger
Steinberg Training Center FAMA Foco Audio & Music A. , Mexico City

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Proabe and 2 guests