comping best practices?

hi I’m a noob at comping. so if I record multiple takes stacked mode into a lane, what’s the best method for comping it? I’ve heard people talk about crossfading parts how would you do that when only one audio piece can be playing at a time? do you have to use multiple tracks?

Hi Itno

Here is what to do to begin with - a very basic approach which, after you are comfortable with this, you will develop your own style of sorting, choosing and implementing those choices:

Let’s suppose you’ve got One vocal track, with 6 lanes of recording. Each of the lanes has the same material.

Look at those wave files … you will see gaps stacked more or less vertically. those will be there the singer has paused for punctuation or to breathe.

Turn off ‘snap to grid’, and Select your scissor tool. With the scissor tool, cut vertically through all six lanes at a point of common silence. Go to the next point of common silence and do the same again.

From now on, you will work with your select [arrow] tool, and your mute tool.

Play a small section … between two points of common silence. If you have not yet muted anything, you will hear the bottom - 6th- lane. If you mute the bottom lane, you will hear the 5th lane. Mute that and you will hear the 4th. And so on until you only hear the first.

As you listen repeatedly to that section, mute and unmute in order to make judgement as to what is the best take. Now with your select tool, drag it to the bottom of the pile … as if you are creating a 7th lane for the ‘chosen ones’.

To make comfortable the act of listening to a section repeatedly, set left and right locators at the beginning and end of the section between common silences. Choose Cycle for playing.

Apply that process to the next section between common silences.
And so on to the end of the song.

Here ends the simplest way. There is no cross fading. You are comping discrete phrases.