New meters with LKFS

General discussions on songwriting, mixing, music business and other music related topics.
Post Reply
Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

New meters with LKFS

Post by Dog and Pony »

Mac and PC, trial version available. Haven't tried it yet but thought I'd share. John.

http://www.vsonics.com/vmeters.php
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4408
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by MattiasNYC »

Thanks for sharing. I'll try to fire it up in demo-mode and run it against Dolby's to see how they stack up (hate the Dolby one btw).
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Hugh
Member
Posts: 282
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 8:24 pm
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by Hugh »

Hello John,
Looks nice because it's simple. WIll give it a try. Have you used their VPre voice processor yet?
Hugh

Dog and Pony
Member
Posts: 453
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:33 pm
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by Dog and Pony »

Hey Hugh, how's things? No, haven't tried that either; we're in the midst of a new buildout and move so new toys are on the back burner. The meters are getting good reviews over on the DUC Post Production forum though. John.
5 systems with N8, N10, Nuage, Artist Series, Faderport 16, Windows 10, MacOSX 10.12 and many more toys.

nb
New Member
Posts: 5
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 2:14 pm
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by nb »

Lydiot wrote:Thanks for sharing. I'll try to fire it up in demo-mode and run it against Dolby's to see how they stack up (hate the Dolby one btw).
Have you done some testing?
Sound designer is a illusive term with different meaning:
Nuendo 6 - Win7 64b - Quadcore 3,15Ghz - 12GB RAM - 2x 240Gb SSD

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4408
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by MattiasNYC »

nb wrote:
Lydiot wrote:Thanks for sharing. I'll try to fire it up in demo-mode and run it against Dolby's to see how they stack up (hate the Dolby one btw).
Have you done some testing?
I have actually forgotten to do so. I'll try to find some time this week....
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

neilwilkes
Senior Member
Posts: 1078
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 11:55 am
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by neilwilkes »

Frankly, it has some very irritating issues that need sorting out.
1 - If you set up a meter from the initial "Blank Canvas", defining the channel maps properly to L,R,C,LFE,Ls,Rs and the speaker placement to the correct order, then set up your chosen meter type & weighting etc, I would expect a VSTpreset created from this to get loaded back properly.
Doesn't happen - the channel mapping is remembered but not the actual meters you so painstakingly set up.

2 - From default loads, the channel mapping is *always* wrong and there seems to be no way of editing this so it stays how I want it. I do not have much use for L,C,R,Ls,Rs,LFE (the standard it uses) and the speaker mapping is also always wrong from
factory preset starting points.

This makes it a pain to set up.
I have to load a VSTPreset that I know will not have the right meters just to get the channel map correct.
Only other alternative is to edit every preset they supply to a correctly set up one & hope it all gets remembered - but it looks likely it will default to this odd channel order instead.
www.opusproductions.com
Intel E5-2687W 8-core Xeon, 32Gb RAM, Windows 7 Pro x64, RME RayDAT, UAD-2 Octo x2 & Quad x2 (fully loaded), Adam A7 x5, WK ID Console
Nuendo 1-6, Cubase 6-7, WaveLab 5-7, DTS/DD encoders, Surround Edition etc, Waves Mercury
Blu-Ray authoring, DVD authoring & high resolution audio specialists.

Detailed Specs on request

User avatar
MattiasNYC
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 4408
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 9:27 am
Contact:

Re: New meters with LKFS

Post by MattiasNYC »

I only checked this plug in PT HD in stereo.

In terms of response and accuracy it seems very close to Dolby. And I suppose it should. I'd say that it seems to react a wee bit slower, finding the same value the Dolby meter does a few seconds later. In general it reported 1dB lower than Dolby before it "caught up". At least that's what it looked like to me.

If what Neil reported gets sorted out I could see this be a good cheaper alternative to the Dolby one.

mattias
Nuendo 10.3 / Lynx TWO-B / Windows 10 Pro 64-bit, 2004 build 19041.450 / Ryzen 1700 3.6GHz (oc) / 16GB Corsair Vengeance DDR4@3200MHz / Radeon VII / ASUS x370-A mobo ::::: RX Post Production Suite 4 / DaVinci Resolve

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg Lounge”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests