Page 1 of 1

Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:29 pm
by Formerly_Thonex
Hi Guys,

I could have sworn that years ago there was a "Move Snap Point to Event Start" or similar. Now there is only a "Move Snap Point to Cursor".... a real problem if you have 1000s of edits that you want to quantize based on the the event starts... and NOT Snap Points.

Is there no way to set Snap Points to Part Start on multiple selected events/parts or similar???

Cheers,

Andrew K

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:40 pm
by Fredo
When you have multiple events in our project (say on a dozen tracks), set the cursor to the desired place, select all events (on all tracks) and perform a "Sbap point To Cursor" (Audio menu).
This will move the snap point of every selected event to the cursor.

Is that what you are looking for?

Fredo

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 5:53 pm
by DG
If, for example, you have 50 events on each track, that won't work because you can't put your cursor in 50 places at once.

DG

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:06 pm
by Formerly_Thonex
Hi Fredo,

Thanks for helping.

I think I'm talking about a different situation.

Say I have a dozen tracks with 100s of edits on each track... some of the edits are before the bar line, some after. I want the Snap point to be at the beginning of ALL the parts. not just at 1 particular point on the time line.

So, imagine I want to move the Snap Points of all selected edits to the beginning of their respective parts as seen below... how would I do that?
Nuendo Edits.png
(7.15 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Thanks for any help.

Cheers,

Andrew K

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 6:08 pm
by Formerly_Thonex
DG wrote:If, for example, you have 50 events on each track, that won't work because you can't put your cursor in 50 places at once.

DG

Yes... that's my point. I'm pretty sure there used to be a command similar to "Set Snap Point to Event Start" or similar.

No workaround?

Cheers,

Andrew K

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Tue Mar 24, 2015 8:57 pm
by Rotund
I'm not sure but maybe the retrospective record function laid waste
to the "move snap point to start" function.

With retrospective record turned on, the start of the event or part
would be hidden unless you manually drag the start of the event back.

Just a guess.

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 4:10 pm
by davidgamson
Hi andrew...I don't remember there ever being a "move snap point to event start" ...only "move snap point to cursor". But, that would be a hugely useful command!

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Wed Mar 25, 2015 6:51 pm
by Formerly_Thonex
davidgamson wrote:Hi andrew...I don't remember there ever being a "move snap point to event start" ...only "move snap point to cursor". But, that would be a hugely useful command!
Hi David,

Thanks for chiming in. Maybe I'm getting confused with one of my other tools I use in sample editing. Age does have it's drawbacks :)

Cheers,

Andrew K

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 2:58 am
by twelvetwelve
You can make a macro consisting of set snap point to cursor, navigate right, and locate next event.

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 3:25 am
by Formerly_Thonex
likelystory wrote:You can make a macro consisting of set snap point to cursor, navigate right, and locate next event.
Yeah... I thought of that, but my session's parts look like a 100 x 50 chessboard :)

Cheers,

Andrew K

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 10:51 am
by DG
Andrew, I've never solved this problem, but the only solution (*and it's a cluster f*ck) is to export the while project as an OMF (creating new files) and then re-open it. From the distant vestiges of memory, not only does this allow one to rename the regions but it gets rid of those stupid annoying snap pints as well. Worth a shot?

DG

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 11:07 am
by Fredo
What if you make regions out of the events?
Then the snap point will be at the beginning of each region, no?

Fredo

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 4:14 pm
by Formerly_Thonex
Fredo wrote:What if you make regions out of the events?
Then the snap point will be at the beginning of each region, no?

Fredo
Hi Fredo,

Interesting idea. I'll try that out when I get back to my studio.

Cheers.... AK

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Mar 26, 2015 5:13 pm
by Fredo
Select events.
Advanced/Events or Range as region.

Fredo

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Fri Mar 27, 2015 4:36 am
by davidgamson
If you turn all the events to parts you get rid of the snap point problem.

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Mon Aug 27, 2018 10:05 pm
by Struart B
Well its now August 2018
Cubase SNAP points = still a complete pain in the arse
For some reason my Cubase 8.5 pro loves to put ALL the Snap points at the END of the Audio event, so if I try to move or Quantise they go completely crazy, so I have to enter each Audio event and move the "S" box back to the start where it should be and no one ever told it to move from there. Total Total pain in the arse

I do make the audio files into parts but only late on for final arranging, not during creating / editing, its not practical

I wont even start about the fact that I cant even get an Audio window to open showing me the actual "Audio Event"
ie. between the "Event Start" and the "Event End" only
Its either scrolling past like a mofo and I have to stop it and then select with the upper mini wave window
OR with scroll off it goes to the start of ALL the audio and again I have to scroll to the "event" with the mini wave
It never ever just goes to the "Event Start" as is expected
Only way I found is with playback stopped and scroll selected, so I cant live edit whilst listen - which is probably a bit important right ?

DAMN YOU MAC MOFOS FOR STEALING LOGIC :evil:

Re: Move Snap Points to Event Start???

Posted: Thu Apr 16, 2020 4:34 am
by tenkas
This seems to be a problem still... Any ideas if this will be fixed?