dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

This section is about Steinberg's UR and UR-RT USB audio interfaces product range
Post Reply
Onkytonk
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:30 am
Contact:

dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by Onkytonk »

Hi all,

I've been using this unit with no issues but am slightly curious.

Any audio played from the PC (itunes, youtube, etc) only comes through the DAW channel in Mix 1.
I cannot get the computer audio to play through Mix 2 or 3.

Am I missing something, or is this not possible?

Thanks. Joe.

Fargo
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Dec 12, 2012 2:19 am
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by Fargo »

I have the same problem. The DAW (or any other sound from the PC) is only in Mix 1. I want my entire band to hear the DAW in their mixes. Surely this has to be possible?

eltho
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by eltho »

anyone found a solution yet?

I can't find how to get the DAW in MIX2 either...

Thanx for any info

User avatar
BriHar
Senior Member
Posts: 2159
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 11:10 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by BriHar »

This is perhaps not well documented (actually a number of things are not well documented).
DAWs (or indeed any application where you'd want this level of control) need to be able to use the ASIO Driver (I speak purely from a PC perspective here), or provide one of their own, otherwise they, as does the PC audio section itself, use a more general, standard windows driver. This audio over USB is then similar to the 2TR inputs which apply only to the MIX 1 bus. If you need to have the PC audio in a MIX other than 1, then you will need to run a cable from your PCs audio out (headphone jack) to a physical input of the UR in question (the SP/DIF input is a good choice for this if you have the required converter). Oh, and you'll need to change the driver (e.g. to the driver for the onboard audio subsystem) so it doesn't send to the UR over the USB simultaneously (or remove the usb connection altogether, provided you've set up your UR mixes correctly with dspMixFx in advance).
"...yes I think it can be easily done, just take everything down to Highway 61."

Sun Point Studio Turbenthal, Switzerland


Cubase Pro 10.5.20 - 64bit | Cubase AI 10.5 | WaveLab 9.0.10 - 64bit | PT10 | UR28M | UR44 | CMC-PD/4xFD/QC/AI/CH/TP | BCF2000 | Contour Shuttlexpress | Graphire Tablet | Cubendo Custom Keyboard | Lenovo E31 Workstation:Xeon E3-1225V2/3.2GHz; 14GB DDR3 SDRAM; 2x Intel-Flash520 SSD 180GB (C:/D:);1TB 7200rpm Sata3 (F:); DVD RW (E:); Ext. 3TB USB3 Freecom + WD 1TB; Nvidea GeForce GT 630 4GB DDR3 Video Ram AGP PCIE | Win 10 Pro 64 Bit

eltho
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Jun 19, 2013 12:27 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by eltho »

BriHar, thanx for the answer.

I now realize that maybe I'm checking for info in the wrong thread... Sorry for that.

My problem is that while I'm using Logic, I don't have anything of my DAW on mix2. Don't find how to route things to that mix, thought it would automatically be sending signal to those mixes too. I want to have/store separate mixes, like for e.g. when I record stuff, I don't want the recording track to be in my monitors. So with the puch of a button I just switch between mix 1 with everything on and mix 2 with the inputs muted.

Any suggestions?

Thanx,
T.

surfile
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Tue Jan 01, 2013 5:13 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by surfile »

Hi,
I had the same problem and contacted the Steinberg support in Germany. I got the following answer (I translated it):

Unfortunately, it is not possible to put the DAW Signal on another Mix. This function hasn't been designed/provided in the DSP Mixer on the digital platform.
Still, you can combine Analog Out 1/2 with Analog In 3/4. Then, mute channels 3/4 in Mix 1 in order to avoid doubling the signal.
In Mix 2, Mix 3 and Mix 4 you will now have the DAW signal on channels 3/4.
There is no other way to get around this problem


I must say that I am very surprised by this answer. Why is there a DAW Fader in Mix 2-4 if it is of no use?? To have the DAW on each Mix is one of the very basic features one needs when it comes to monitor mixes in the studio, so why did nobody at Steinberg think about this when they designed the digital platform? The solution that the support suggests will have the effect that two inputs are missing, which isn't really satisfying.

I am disappointed by Steinberg.

ptram
Member
Posts: 647
Joined: Thu Nov 24, 2011 6:37 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by ptram »

Mac and Logic here. The dspMixFx shows various DAW output pairs when assigning signal to the UR824's outputs (either analogue or ADAT). Are you saying that these are not working?

Sorry, I cannot test them myself now.

Paolo

rips
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Mon Mar 14, 2016 10:02 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by rips »

This has stressed me out too - bought the unit for it's great monitoring features, unseen elsewhere at this price point..
Gutted when I realised you can't route the DAW to any mix other than mix 1... WHY!!???

Anyway, I've got around it without using up one of the analogue output pairs :)
In case it helps anyone out here, this is what I've done:

• Set mix 1 to DAW out ONLY - this is the mix for the main monitors
• Set the S/PDIF out to mirror mix 1 (DAW only)
• Connect the S/PDIF OUT directly to the S/PDIF IN using a coaxal cable

Now you can use the S/PDIF INPUT level in mix 2 & 3 along with your direct inputs for mic/instr/line.
I then use Mix 1 for DAW only and mix 2 & 3 for artist monitoring during recording sessions.


Hope that helps anyone having the same trouble I did!

Onkytonk
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Wed Nov 14, 2012 4:30 am
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by Onkytonk »

So after deciding that I wanted to use my UR28M for live performance, I had to revisit this issue to find a solution.

rips suggestion for using the digital i/o was sounding like the most logical step, but still a 'workaround'.

However, I have finally found a solution that should satisfy everyone!

The problem is that so many audio players do not support the ASIO drivers. So I found a player called AIMP3, which supports ASIO out of the box.

After installing AIMP3, I went into the preferences, selected the UR28M interface, but then also selected the extended settings for this and was able to allocate the audio to any (or all) of the available outputs on the UR28M!
AIMP3.png
(120.52 KiB) Not downloaded yet
So now, when using backing tracks for live performance, I just use AIMP3 and can use the DAW input is dspMixFX in mix 1, 2 and/or 3.

User avatar
plectrumboy
Member
Posts: 679
Joined: Thu Jan 06, 2011 4:48 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by plectrumboy »

Thanks, that sounds interesting, I'll check it out.

Steve.
Scan 3XS desktop i7 5820 @ 4.0 Ghz on Asus x99 Pro 32Gb running Windows 10 pro with Thunderbolt card; MacBook Pro 2018 32gb, 2x UR824, UAD Apollo Twin Mk II Quad; Icon Qcon Pro X + 1x Pro XS, Cubase 10.5 (most recent), Jamstix 4, The Grand 3, HSO, Wavelab 9.5, Halion 6, BFD3, NI Studio Drummer, Session Horns Pro, Mark 1, Groove Agent 4, Stylus RMX, Trillian, Kontakt, VST Connect Pro.

phasolla
New Member
Posts: 3
Joined: Fri Aug 18, 2017 12:11 am
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by phasolla »

I have the same problem. DAW doesn't work on Mix 2,3,4. Maybe Steinberg will release some patch fixing this problem? Please?

ladastefek
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Feb 16, 2019 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by ladastefek »

Hi.
Had the same problem. I solved it out by add another stereo output (VST connections - outputs - add bus) And called it stereo out 2 and route it to UR44 mix2 L and UR44 mix2 R.
Than each track you like to hear in Mix 2 need to to be send to Stereo out 2. Do it in sends of each track. Or you can send groupes..:)

It seems for me easyest solution. Enjoy. :)

umeruma
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Sat Jul 11, 2020 10:58 pm
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by umeruma »

Hi,
I had same problem with UR44C at macOS.
I want all sounds (youtube on browser, music app, ... ) to hear in all mixes.

Apparently, at the system level setting, the sound source output can be only switched between mix1 and mix2 (and FX Bus) with "Audio MIDI Setup" application.
(After selecting Steinberg UR44C at Left panel, click "Configure Speakers..." button at bottom right, and change channels.)

I tried a lot, but after all, I decided to use an audio routing app to play sound on both mix1 & mix2 channels.
I had a Loopback app (https://rogueamoeba.com/loopback/) so I used it, but a free app should do the same things.

My settings are like this attachment image.
Screen Shot 2020-07-12 at 7.01.33.png
(863.28 KiB) Not downloaded yet
The settings using loopback are as follows:
- Create virtual output device
- Set UR44C as monitor device
- Link sound source's L channel to monitor's channel 1&3, R channel to monitor's channel 2&4
- Select this virtual output device at macOS sound output setting panel.

It's just a workaround, but this is enough for me personally.

jasonroy506
New Member
Posts: 1
Joined: Wed Jul 22, 2020 5:49 am
Contact:

Re: dspMixFX - No DAW channel output in Mix 2 or 3

Post by jasonroy506 »

This sound over USB is then like the 2TR data sources which apply just to the MIX 1 transport. In the event that you have to have the PC sound in a MIX other than 1, at that point you should force a link from your PCs sound to leave earphone jack to a physical contribution of the UR being referred to the SP/DIF input is a decent decision for this in the event that you have the necessary converter.
Coffee scholar. Alcohol fan.

Post Reply

Return to “Steinberg UR Series”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests