Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

For users of legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects software
Post Reply
Toneshed
New Member
Posts: 38
Joined: Fri Jan 28, 2011 11:48 am
Contact:

Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by Toneshed »

I noticed HSO is integrated into Halion Sonic in Cubase 6 and can not be loaded as a VST on it's own.
In Cubase 5 this was possible, but that's not really an issue.

However, after loading Halion Sonic I noticed that the HSO sounds have a VERY low volume compared to the other Halion sounds, when selected from within the Halion Sonic (SE) VST instrument in Cubase 6.

Is there a way to solve this?

Thanks!
Erwin
Mac Pro, Cubase 8, Wavelab 7, blabla...

crofter
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by crofter »

Yes I have this too, very quiet compared to other sounds.

User avatar
MrSoundman
Senior Member
Posts: 2600
Joined: Fri Dec 24, 2010 3:27 am
Contact:

Re: Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by MrSoundman »

Some patches are controlled by MIDI in order to allow more expression and are designed to be "played", and this by default is set to MIDI controller 1 (modulation). If this is the problem then on the virtual keyboard of HSSE, turn up the modulation wheel (also works on the virtual keyboard) and see if the sound gets louder.
Windows 10 • Cubase 10.5.20 • WaveLab 10.0.40 • SpectraLayers 6.0.30 • HALion 6.4.0 • Groove Agent 5.0.20 • Midex

crofter
Member
Posts: 231
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 7:55 pm
Contact:

Re: Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by crofter »

yes better, never though of that, thanks

Shalu
New Member
Posts: 23
Joined: Thu Aug 25, 2011 4:11 pm
Contact:

Re: Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by Shalu »

I resume this post cause, after installing HSO, I have some instrument, like "Cellos tutti" with a very low volume level, also after turning modulation weel. Cello solo it's very bright in comparison with the volume of Cellos ensemble.
I have tried to switch everything but ... Nothing. Someone knos what's the catch?
Thnks a lot.
Cubase 6, HSO II, Tascam US-1800, Phenom 8450 tricore, 8GB
Yamaha S90ES, Fender Telecaster, Squier Jazz bass, Roland TD-3 V-Drum, french bagpipe, diatonic accordion.
Rock, blues, folk, world, soundtrack, ambient
http://soundcloud.com/shalublack

joncolinleonard
New Member
Posts: 4
Joined: Fri Mar 04, 2011 10:12 pm
Contact:

Re: Low volume when loaded into Halion Sonic (SE)

Post by joncolinleonard »

Just for fun, I was struggling with the same issue, except in my case, the track automation information was somehow "leaking" into the Halion instrument level as well as the track fader. Reloading the preset seemed to cure the problem...
J Colin Leonard

Post Reply

Return to “Legacy Steinberg VST Instruments | VST Effects”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest