Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

For users of legacy Steinberg Cubase software
Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

Hi everyone !

I have a strange problem with cubase : I cannot do any audio treatment (like normalize, invert...). If I try, nothing happens, and the audio clips remain unchanged. I can use variaudio, though, so it's really basic audiotreatments that i'm not able to use (anything wich try to render a new sound, actually)
I have to say that I already had this problem on cubase 5, but since i almost only use vst, it was not such a big deal, even if it is pretty annoying.
I was hoping installing W7, with the brand new cubase 6 would solve everything, but it would have been too easy :mrgreen:

I have a M-audio audiophile 2496.

I pretty much stuck here, so i think my only chance is you, guys ^^.

Thx
Last edited by Plougot on Sat Apr 30, 2011 4:58 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

lights
Member
Posts: 633
Joined: Wed Dec 22, 2010 5:07 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by lights »

Can you provide specific steps you are doing that fail? For example:

1. Open clip in audio editor
2. Select range of audio
3....
-darren
music: www.lightsfadelow.com
follow lights fade low on facebook


i7 980x 18GB RAM; ProFire2626; Win7; everything x64

Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

One basic example: reverse a clip.
I import an audio file (can be anything). i click on the clip, and i select the audio menu (audio -> traitement -> inversion -Sorry, i'm french ^^).

Annnnnd nothing happens. The pop up doesn't even show up, even though i didn't ask it not to show up. If i open the edit menu, I can see that cubase hasn't done anything, because i can't undo.

Anything related to calculating a new audio file fails. I think it's the best way to sum it up. (I tried to select range of audio, to open in audio editor, ...)

One question : is it possible that my cubase 6 'took' the cubase 5 bug ? It's a complete new OS, but my cubase 5 install is still here, on another hard drive. Am I sure that cubase 6 installed itself from scratch ? Or has he done some silly things, like
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

User avatar
Split
Grand Senior Member
Posts: 5286
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 5:06 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Split »

Delete prefs and try again as detailed under initialising preferences here> https://www.steinberg.net/en/support/kn ... /2020.html
??????Split
Cubase 10|MOTU 16A
Still at it... just!

Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

Thx, i try it right away
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

So, i deleted prefs several times, to see how my cubase reacted. I think it's actually working now, thank you ! Nevertheless, my old project is still bugged, but it looks more like a corrupted save to me now.
Deleting the prefs definitly helped, even if I still don't have a clue about what was going on. (Well, infact, I may have one : I cleaned a bit my vst plugins folder which had wrong dll pointing to nowhere. I think it had screwed up the initiliazing process of the audio somehow, but i'm not sure...)

To sum up, before, I could never use audio treatment. Now, it's just my old project which is concerned. If the new ones are not concerned, it's not a big deal ^^.

Let's just hope it's will not happen again, because corrupting saves is not what i call "nice features" :p.

Anyway, thank you very much !
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

Hi everyone, it's me again, with the same issue.

The main problem is that on regular basis, my app data folder seems to get corrupted. If I delete it, it's alright, A new fresh one is created and I can edit my audio again, but... The last opened project save (probably the one opened when cubase crashed) get corrupted too. It's not possible to work seriously with this Sword of Damocles, so if anyone has an idea, I take it.

I work mostly with vst plug ins, and I strongly suspect that the problem comes from here. But I don't know what to do.

Thx everyone !
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

Plougot
New Member
Posts: 21
Joined: Thu Apr 21, 2011 12:53 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Plougot »

I finally understood my problem. It had nothing to do with anything I suspected. Even resetting the prefs was useless.

The only thing that matters is that my projects are in the original path (C:my documents...). If I try to put them somewhere else, no more audio treatment...
A bit silly, isn't it ? Fortunately, it's not so hard to move files for a hard drive to another...
Anyway, I still don't know "why", but now that I've figured out "how", I can work without being afraid of the scary audio bug.
Cubase 6.
W7 64bits, i7 2600k 3.40 Ghz, 16 Go ram.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by greggybud »

You are exactly right. For some reason it only works properly in the original path (C: my documents...) If you change folders the processing functions do not work on my pc.

Steinberg, please fix this!

This is not another "rebuild your presets" or "reinstall Cubase" issue. I did both and nothing changed.

Simple example of problem:

Import any audio file. Click on the part.
Go to Audio>Processing> (envelope, reverse, fade in, fade out, normalize, gain, pitch shift) none of these work. The only one I could find which worked was silence. I did not check the others.

Also note that when you attempt to do this, nothing shows up in offline processing or history.

Cubase6 or 6.0.3 (doesn't matter) 32bit in Windows7 64bit.
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by mr.roos »

Well, wait a minute. You can tell Cubase to save your audio files to whatever HD you want. I chose 'D' for example. I am not having the problem you describe.

So I would suggest you PRE determine what HD you are saving to if this is what you are looking to do. I admit I have not tried what you are doing, moving a saved file, but then I don't see why I would do this. :?
Cubase 10.5 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (2004 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, StudioLogic Numa Compact 2X 88-Key, and Roland FP-30.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by greggybud »

mr.roos wrote:Well, wait a minute. You can tell Cubase to save your audio files to whatever HD you want. I chose 'D' for example. I am not having the problem you describe.

So I would suggest you PRE determine what HD you are saving to if this is what you are looking to do. I admit I have not tried what you are doing, moving a saved file, but then I don't see why I would do this. :?
I'm not sure what is going on at the moment.

I do PRE determine my HD.

For clarification I should have said:

1. open Cubase
2. click on file tab>New project
3. at the bottom check "use default location"
4. by default the file path is (C\user\user name\cubase projects
5. change this path to the D drive for example.
6. Import any audio file. Click on the part.
Go to Audio>Processing> (envelope, reverse, fade in, fade out, normalize, gain, pitch shift) none of these will work.

I can tell you that when I choose (C: my documents..) the default file for Cubase, all audio processing works correctly.

But if I choose my D drive for example (D: Cubase Projects...) then all the audio processing does not work.

I'm not moving any saved file. I'm simply starting a project, and instead of selecting the C drive, I'm choosing the D drive.
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by mr.roos »

OK, I understand what you are saying. Basically, if you open a new project, change the default HD to another drive besides C, and then import an audio file, you cannot do any audio processing to the file. Specifically 'reverse audio'.

Alright, I have tried this, my default drive is D, and I do not experience your problem.

For example: I opened a current project that has 1 track of recorded audio (with 16 audio tracks set up). I imported the tune Green Onions by Booker T onto track #2. It's an MP3 file and it was converted to the project's 48khz/24bit setting. I clicked on the track, opened the Audio tab and clicked on 'reverse'. The whole song was reversed, not a problem.

So let me ask the obvious, how are you importing the track you want reversed? In my case I highlight the track I want the imported audio to appear, I then select 'import audio' from the main file tab of the project, find an audio piece I want to import and click on it. A window comes up and asks me if I want to convert, I say yes, the conversion starts and then it appears in the track.
Cubase 10.5 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (2004 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, StudioLogic Numa Compact 2X 88-Key, and Roland FP-30.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Conman »

I'm not getting this but answering another post reminded me. I have moved the files that greggybud describes and so far have not had this happen.
However what greggybud wrote has just solved a problem for me about moving that pesky Cubase Projects folder which has been secretly filling up my C Drive.
So thanks. Would have taken me ages to find that.

ps: I can report that I did lose the Audio FX settings after I followed Greggybud's breakdown, both unhighlighted and highlighted but mysteriously they came back. I had the mixer open initially so it could be something was bugging around this maneouvre and the mixer. I also had another couple of programs open too so it could involve them (processing, memory?).
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by greggybud »

mr.roos wrote: So let me ask the obvious, how are you importing the track you want reversed? In my case I highlight the track I want the imported audio to appear, I then select 'import audio' from the main file tab of the project, find an audio piece I want to import and click on it. A window comes up and asks me if I want to convert, I say yes, the conversion starts and then it appears in the track.
Thanks for asking.

Once a project is created, Cubase opens. I'm starting from scratch so no conversion is applicable.
Highlight any audio track.
File>Import> Audio file> then the Windows audio file box opens so I can select any audio file.
select the file, open it, then the wave part appears in cubase.
Highlight that part, select the audio tab>process> gain

The gain box opens up, lets say I want to reduce the gain, so i use the slider to reduce it, hit process....and the wave image in my project window doesn't change and of course neither does the actual audio.

This is applicable with most other functions such as normalize, fade in/out etc. The only function I found that works is silence.

Hope that helps.
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by greggybud »

mr.roos wrote: Alright, I have tried this, my default drive is D, and I do not experience your problem.
Your default is D? The first time you installed Cubase it should default to your C drive. Apparently you have changed the default drive since installing the program?
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
greggybud
Senior Member
Posts: 1399
Joined: Thu Dec 16, 2010 10:01 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by greggybud »

Conman wrote: However what greggybud wrote has just solved a problem for me about moving that pesky Cubase Projects folder which has been secretly filling up my C Drive.
So thanks. Would have taken me ages to find that.

ps: I can report that I did lose the Audio FX settings after I followed Greggybud's breakdown, both unhighlighted and highlighted but mysteriously they came back. I had the mixer open initially so it could be something was bugging around this maneouvre and the mixer. I also had another couple of programs open too so it could involve them (processing, memory?).
Yes, I don't want my C drive filled with audio files. That is why I decided to create a new folder titled "my cubase projects" in my D drive and then change the default in Cubase from C to D. And that is when I noticed the audio processors not working.

I have a request with Steinberg...hopefully I can get this mess figured out. It apparently doesn't happen with most people, but my issues exactly reflect those of Plogut.
The latest Cubase version, Wavelab 10, Intel Core i9 7920X @ 2.90GHz Windows 10 64bit, 64 gig all SSD drives (Gigabyte GeForce GTX 1050ti, 2 34" LG ultra wides and 1 28" all @2560x1080) iCon QconPro, Metagrid, 4 MidiTimePiece's = 32in/outs, UAD-2, SoundToys, NI, Waves, Arturia, and lots of hardware synthesizers most of them controlled by MidiQuest 11.

User avatar
mr.roos
Senior Member
Posts: 1600
Joined: Thu Apr 07, 2011 6:56 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by mr.roos »

(About the C drive filling up because of the default folder? I left that folder in place, the one that comes up by default in the C drive, but created one in D drive. ...Um, and the result is the D drive folder gets used by Cubase and the default one I left on the C drive just sits there not being used at all. I never deleted it because it doesn't take up any room.

So are we just chasing our tail here or is somebody suggesting that if I delete the default folder now on the C drive, keeping my D drive folder intact, that the sky will start raining doo? Likewise, is somebody saying that Cubase is storing dupilcate data in duplicate folders on both drives? The former I don't know about because I have not done this, and the latter I am not seeing on my PC...)

Back to topic, Plougot are you loading a track in C6 like I suggested and still not able to reverse it?
Cubase 10.5 Pro from SX3, WaveLab Pro 10, Groove Agent 5, iC Pro remote app, Win10 64-bit (2004 update installed - latest OS build always), Intel i7 8700 Coffee Lake 6-Core 3.2GHz, 32G DDR4 3200, Gigabyte Z390 Designare MB, Radeon RX570 Graphics card, Mackie 1640i (FireWire via TI chipset PCI-E card), 1K iRig Pads, StudioLogic Numa Compact 2X 88-Key, and Roland FP-30.

Conman
Senior Member
Posts: 2116
Joined: Fri Dec 17, 2010 4:31 am

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Conman »

I did move the contents of the default "My Documents...etc. " folder but then I had to dig around for lost files when I loaded any Projects referencing the Project WAVs.
I think, strictly speaking, it just keeps all the backups and history files there but they do tend to grow a bit as they're essentially duplicates of one's Project files that are stored elsewhere.
So: save Project A to folder "Project A" then Project B to folder "Project B" the contents of both folders and their backups will then also be saved into "Documents / Cubase Projects". Initially C drive, but as you have pointed out this can be redirected with the Project Assistant.

I think now my C drive Cubase folder will now behave as yours does mr. roos and the new default folder will start to fill up.

Unfortunately though we don't seem to have fixed the Audio treatments problem for you yet. I feel sure it's got to be simple. I think moving that default file is the common denominator. But why is mine (but only one Project yet and that did fail temporarily) still working?
Asus P6T deluxe; Core i7 920 2.67gHz; 12gig ram; Win7 Pro SP1; Roland Octa-Capture usb inteface; Cubase 6; and no 3rd party additions couple of hard drives PSU 750watt; NVidia GE Force 9600.
"An entrepreneur accepts that the world is the way that it is and goes about changing it rather than waiting for someone to make it easy for them."

User avatar
el-russo
Member
Posts: 218
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 9:52 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by el-russo »

greggybud wrote: 1. open Cubase
2. click on file tab>New project
3. at the bottom check "use default location"
4. by default the file path is (C\user\user name\cubase projects
5. change this path to the D drive for example.
6. Import any audio file. Click on the part.
Go to Audio>Processing> (envelope, reverse, fade in, fade out, normalize, gain, pitch shift) none of these will work.

I can tell you that when I choose (C: my documents..) the default file for Cubase, all audio processing works correctly.

But if I choose my D drive for example (D: Cubase Projects...) then all the audio processing does not work.

I'm not moving any saved file. I'm simply starting a project, and instead of selecting the C drive, I'm choosing the D drive.
Can't reproduce it here. Everything works as usual. I don't use the default directory for my projects either, but even if I check and then uncheck it, audio processing still works as expected.
cpu: AMD Phenom II x4 955, ram: 8GB DDR III 1333, Audio/MIDI Interface: Edirol FA66.
Windows 7 x64. Cubase 6.5.1 x64 and 32 bit.
VSTi's: VSL, HSO, Kontakt 4, HALion 4

krisp
Junior Member
Posts: 168
Joined: Wed Feb 02, 2011 7:25 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by krisp »

greggybud wrote: 1. open Cubase
2. click on file tab>New project
3. at the bottom check "use default location"
4. by default the file path is (C\user\user name\cubase projects
5. change this path to the D drive for example.
6. Import any audio file. Click on the part.
Go to Audio>Processing> (envelope, reverse, fade in, fade out, normalize, gain, pitch shift) none of these will work.
Tried your repro with Cubase 6 32 bit version - works as it's supposed to.

Regards,
Kris
Cubase 8.0.20 x64 | Win 8.1 x64 | Lenovo ThinkStation P900 w/ 2 Intel Xeon E5-2620v3 + 64 GB DDR4 ECC RAM | Nvidia Quadro K2200 | 256 GB M.2 SSD | 2x2 TB hybrid HDDs (RAID1).

Kev Vin
Junior Member
Posts: 137
Joined: Sun Dec 19, 2010 7:50 am
Location: Newtown Johannesburg South Africa
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Kev Vin »

All is working fine my side on windows xp32, windows 7 32 and mac snow leopard.

I never check the "Use default location" option but always rather tick the "Prompt for project location" option just below it.

This way each song/job i start gets its own unique folder, on one of many posiible drives. Even using external drives works flawlessly.

Perhaps try starting a new project using this method and see if the problem persists.
Win7 64bits 16 gigs ram, Motu 2408 mk3, Focusrite octopre dynamic, Fostex 24 channel mixer, Line 6 x3 live,Line 6 HD, Lots of drums and perc and mics to go with, Lots guitars/basses/keys,amps etc. Cubase 6.5.5 Halion symphonic, lots of other plugins

Please visit www.darkstarstudio.co.za

User avatar
eastfoldpicker
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by eastfoldpicker »

If I create a folder on my hardrive (D:), I cannot use the reverse audio.
But it works if I create a folder on hardrive (C:)....

Does Steinberg know about this problem?
Cubase 7.5, Universal Audio Apollo 16, Mac Pro 2013 32GB RAM, Barefoot MM27 gen 2, Neve 1073 DPA, Tubetech MP2, UA 2-610, API 3124+, Portico 5024, Vintage Design DMP2.

User avatar
matjones
Senior Member
Posts: 1323
Joined: Wed Dec 15, 2010 6:44 pm
Location: Here....
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by matjones »

No problems here doing what you guys are trying to do... and i NEVER store project folders on my C:\..... NOT a good idea to be running audio from your system drive really.
Out of interest.... the clips you are importing, are they read only by any chance? when you import them do you get a dialogue box asking if you want to copy them to the project folder also?
Cubase 10.5.12 Asus Z390-Plus, i9 9900 @ (3.7) 5GHz, 64GB DDR4 3000Mhz RAM, RME Multiface II PCIe, SSL Alpha Channel/Fusion, UAD2 Octo/Solo/Quad, UA6176, Neve 8801/8803, Loads of plugs, WL10, Melodyne Studio 5, Arturia VC7, iZotope MPS, Eventide XI, Various toys, Telefunken, Neumann, AKG, Austrian Audio, Sontronics, Shure Mics, Adam A7X and Avantone monitors, AKG K702, ATH-M70x, Nektar P6, Warwick, Spector Basses, Gibson Les Paul Studio & loads of other junk.


Minds are like parachutes, they work best when they're open.

User avatar
eastfoldpicker
Junior Member
Posts: 50
Joined: Sun Aug 07, 2011 1:30 am
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by eastfoldpicker »

I'm not importing anything.
I create a total new project on harddrive D.
Then I record something and try to reverse the audio, but nothing happens.
But if do the same on harddrive C, it works...

Thanks.
Cubase 7.5, Universal Audio Apollo 16, Mac Pro 2013 32GB RAM, Barefoot MM27 gen 2, Neve 1073 DPA, Tubetech MP2, UA 2-610, API 3124+, Portico 5024, Vintage Design DMP2.

Proober
New Member
Posts: 7
Joined: Fri Mar 20, 2015 2:59 pm
Contact:

Re: Strange problem : Audio treatments do not work

Post by Proober »

Hello all,

I have the exact same problem since recently building a new computer and upgrading to Cubase 8 Pro.
Go the latest update and running Windows 8 64bit.

So, the problem -

1. Open a Project in R drive [or whatever drive used other than C]
2. Import or Render audio clip
3. Right click on audio clip. Process - Reverse clip
4. The audio then plays back corrupted, static and wholly wrong.

This thread offers a workaround, which is to run the project in C drive but I find this undesirable.

I'd like to be able to keep my projects on my storage hard drives rather than my C drive.

Was this ever resolved?

Does anyone have any suggestions?

Many thanks,

Proober

Post Reply

Return to “Older Cubase versions”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests